Meet the NSCS 2019 Advisors of the Year


The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) is pleased to announce our 2019 Advisor of the Year awards. Each of these advisors has exhibited tremendous leadership and commitment to NSCS scholars at their campuses. Please join us in congratulating this year’s winners!

Matthew Painter

2019 Laura Taddeucci Downs NSCS National Advisor of the Year

Dr. Matthew Painter
Advisor, NSCS at University of Wyoming

This annual award is named and funded by Laura Taddeucci Downs, NSCS’s original advisor at The George Washington University, where the organization was founded in 1994.

We are excited to announce our National Advisor of the Year. Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Painter, who advises our chapter at University of Wyoming.

The opportunity to serve as advisor to our NSCS chapter has been an honor and a privilege over the past 8 years. This organization and the awesome students it attracts make the ‘service’ component of my job immensely satisfying, rewarding, and meaningful.

Thank you, Dr. Painter, for creating a wonderful support system for our students at NSCS at University of Wyoming.

Regional Advisors of the Year

All recipients of this honor are advisors who, over the past year, have continuously displayed strong leadership and unwavering support and dedication to their NSCS chapter through coaching and mentoring student officers and chapter members. We thank them for their embodiment of the society’s pillars of scholarship, leadership, and service.

Recipients, by region: Region 1: Dr. Ritu Sharma, NSCS at Purdue University Global Region 2: Ms. Jenna Fusinatto, NSCS at University of Missouri Region 3: Dr. Kathleen Stephens, NSCS at Richland College Region 4: Professor Martha Halihan, NSCS at Oklahoma State University Congratulations to our recipients, and thank you for the support you provide our students every day. We’re so grateful to have you in the NSCS family!

Regional Advisors of the Year

Katey Ulrich

EW Advisor of the Year

Katey Ulrich
University of South Dakota

Congratulations to Katey Ulrich, who was named this year’s New Advisor of the Year! She advises the NSCS chapter at University of South Dakota. Proud to have you in the NSCS family, Katey!

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) is an honors organization, boasting 320 plus chapters nationwide, that recognizes high-achieving first-and second-year students. With its three pillars of scholarship, leadership, and service, NSCS is proud to provide career and graduate school connections, leadership and service experiences, practical and skills-based content, access to discounts and savings, and over $500,000 in scholarships, chapter funds and awards annually. To learn more about joining the NSCS honors society, visit us at

See other NSCS Scholar Reviews

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) is an ACHS accredited, legitimate, 501c3 registered non-profit organization with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, and is FERPA certified by AACRAO.

Scroll to Top